• +1 407-362-7900

Support the Innovators of Tomorrow!    



2008 Astronaut Scholar Ryan East
University of Oklahoma

Astronaut Scholar Ryan East received the Astronaut Scholarship award while earning his bachelor’s degree in Aerospace Engineering at the University of Oklahoma from 2006-2008. He then went on to earn a Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering at the University of Texas.

Today, East is living his dream working in Mission Control at NASA’s Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center in Houston, TX as a Trajectory Analyst for the International Space Station (ISS) and is training to become a Trajectory Operations Officer. His job involves knowing where the ISS is located in orbit, where it will be in future, and defending it against the dangers of space debris. East also maintains a database regarding the historical ISS trajectory and statistics about space debris in order to keep other research organizations updated, including companies that have payloads on the ISS.

“The Astronaut Scholarship has certainly been the greatest & most prestigious honor I’ve ever received,” said East. “The Astronaut Scholarship paid for every single penny of my education that year at University of Oklahoma, and the board was so gracious to renew that award for my senior year. My family & I didn’t have to worry about finances at all — All I had to do was study hard and chase my dream of working for NASA.”

Astronaut Scholars


    The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation (ASF) has awarded 50 scholarships to students from 36 different universities across the nation. Astronaut Scholarships are awarded to students in their junior and senior year of college studying science, technology, engineering, or mathematics with the intent to pursue research or advance their field upon completion of their final degree. Astronaut Scholars are among the best and brightest minds in STEM who show initiative, creativity, and excellence in their chosen field.

For More Information

Years of ASF


Astronaut Scholars




Millions Awarded

Help ASF Support the Innovators of Tomorrow!